In Memory of SmallFry

As some of you in the keyboarding world may already know, Nate aka SmallFry has passed away recently.  This post and everything my blog stands for is dedicated to him.  For those of you that haven’t heard, SmallFry passed away due to a traumatic brain injury from a car accident.  More details here:  http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/natewalter

SmallFry

SmallFry / Nate
July 11, 1996 – June 27, 2013

SmallFry was revered on GH as not only an enthusiastic individual, but helpful and extremely gifted for his age.  I met him for the first and only time in person at our first Chicagoland meet some time ago and my first impression was, “man this guy is super young!”  At the time, I believe he had just turned 16.  He said to me in a PM, “I’ll be the guy there with the SmallFry hat on!”  And of course he was, accompanied by his father.  Both him and his father, very talented and smart individuals.  It kills me inside to see how much potential Nate had and where his efforts could have greatly improved and increased the keyboard knowledge base.

SmallFry’s Keyboards from Chicagoland Keyboard Meet (August 2012)

More images from our Chicagoland Keyboard Meet: http://imgur.com/a/n0dca

What I regret most of all is not being able to talk with Nate one last time before all this happened.  I think my last email exchanges with Nate, was him asking me to come back to GH.  Of course, I couldn’t fulfill his request but I’d give up anything at this point to have another conversation with him.

Nate was an avid supporter of my blog, probably the biggest.  He remembered every post I had, and often frequented more than myself.  I remember a few times that I’ve pop quizzed him about my posts, and without even a 2nd thought, he always had an answer.  Always.  My biggest supporter, and just like that with the blink of an eye, is now gone.  I look at my life in retrospect and think about all the things I did when I was 16 and how much Nate would have enjoyed life.

Nate would have been a wonderful, honored, and respected individual in his lifetime.  There’s absolutely no doubt about that.  I hope wherever you are now Nate, that you are resting in peace.  To all his family and relatives, I’m truly sorry for your loss.

Sincerely,

Dan

3 thoughts on “In Memory of SmallFry

  1. Hi Dan,

    Thank you for this about Nathan, it’s really touching. I’m glad you guys met, I consider you lucky to have done so.

    • Hey Nirvana =) Long time no talk. As I mentioned, Nate was probably my biggest supporter and this was the least I could do to remember him, for myself and anyone else reading this post, both now and in the future.

  2. Hard, yes. I hope never to forget him. He was such a great, inspiring guy.
    I actually do my best not to track forum craziness, so I fear I missed the last bout you ran afoul of.
    You are always welcome on the irc, please feel free to stop by anytime, even if just to mope with us. 🙂
    dfj

Leaf a message

